Steering Committee Members of the ‘Support to the Implementation of EU High-Level Advisers’ Mission 2019 -2021’ project convened in their first ordinary meeting on 22 October to take stock of the activities carried out during the first phase of project implementation and endorse its First Interim Semestrial Report.
The meeting was co-chaired by Adrian Ermurachi, Deputy Secretary General of the Government and Marco Gemmer, Head of Operations Section of the European Union Delegation to the Republic of Moldova.

Pavlos Kollias, Team Leader of the project, presented an overview of activities carried out during the first semester of 2019 and of the state of play of the High Level Advisers’ Mission at present; whereas the members of the Steering Committee – senior management of the line Ministries and Agencies – provided feedback on their collaboration with EU High Level Advisers, as well as listed their immediate priorities for which policy advice is needed.

The meeting also provided floor for establishing further steps for the next stages of the project’s implementation.

NB: The EU High Level Advisers’ Mission is an EU-funded project with a three-year implementation period, which has started in January 2019. Its overall objective is to support the Government of the Republic of Moldova to implement its reform Agenda; in particular, to assist in developing the capacities required for the implementation of the Association Agreement (AA), including the Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area (DCFTA), as well as to ensure the necessary follow-up for the post – visa liberalisation stage.

The EU High-Level Advisers are senior, qualified professionals with significant experience in leading sectoral public policies and/or in managing public bodies at the highest level in Member States countries. Currently, the EU High-Level Advisers’ Mission consists of 9 Advisers in the following sectors: Anti-Money Laundering; Anticorruption; Confidence Building Measures; Customs and Tax Policy (Domestic Revenue Mobilisation); Education and Research; Energy; Financial Services; Internal Affairs and Police; Local Public Administration Reform, including Decentralisation and Voluntary Amalgamation. The beneficiary institutions include: The Prime Minister’s Office, State Chancellery, the Office for Prevention and Fight against Money Laundering; the Criminal Asset Recovery Agency under the National Anticorruption Centre; the Ministry of Internal Affairs; the General Police Inspectorate; the Customs Service; the Ministry of Economy and Infrastructure; the Bureau for Reintegration; the Ministry of Education, Culture and Research; the National Bank of Moldova; the National Commission for Financial Markets.