The project is funded by the European Union with a two-year implementation period, from January 2023 until January 2025. Its overall objective is to support the Moldovan authorities in the implementation of the reform agenda and in particular, in developing the capacities required for the implementation of the Association Agreement (AA), including the Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area (DCFTA), as well as assist towards the EU Accession negotiation process.

Specifically, the project aims at

  • strengthening policy making at sector level, including both the strategic planning/policy designand the policy management capacities of the line Ministries and State Agencies operating in the sectors that have been selected to be assisted;
  • enhancing the stakeholders’ knowledge and awareness of the European Union’s policies, legislation and regulations;
  • capacity building in the central level public institutions of the Republic of Moldova
  • providing specific advice so as to ensure the political, institutional and financial feasibilityof the reforms in order to ensure their effective implementation.

In this overarching framework, the project supports the deployment and work of the EU High Level Advisers (HLAs) designated by the EU Delegation in Moldova. Currently, the EU High-Level Advisers’ Mission consists of 10 Advisers in the following sectors:

Anticorruption; Customs and Tax Policy (Domestic Revenue Mobilisation); Diplomatic and European Affairs; Education and Research; Energy; Financial Services; Environment & Green Transition; Internal Security Affairs; Local Public Administration Reform, including Descentralisation and Voluntary Amalgamation; Reforms Coordination; Strategic Coordination and European Affairs.

The EU High-Level Advisers are senior, qualified professionals with significant experience in leading sectoral public policies and/or in managing public bodies at the highest level in Member States countries, and can also share international experiences from countries at various stages of EU integration.

The beneficiary institutions include: Prime Minister’s Office, State Chancellery, Presidential Administration, Customs Service, Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Energy, Ministry of Environment, Ministry of Education and Research, Ministry of Internal Affairs, Office for Prevention and Fight against Money Laundering, Criminal Asset Recovery Agency under the National Anticorruption Centre.