Project Description

The project is funded by the European Union with a four-year implementation period, from January 2019 until January 2023.
Its overall objective is to support the Government of the Republic of Moldova to implement its reform Agenda; in particular, to assist in developing the capacities required for the implementation of the Association Agreement (AA), including the Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area (DCFTA), as well as to ensure the necessary follow-up for the post – visa liberalisation stage.
Specifically, the project aims at

• strengthening policy making at sector level, including both the strategic planning/policy design and the policy management capacities of the line Ministries and State Agencies operating in the sectors that have been selected to be assisted;

• enhancing the stakeholders’ knowledge and awareness of the European Union’s policies, legislation and regulations;

• providing specific advice so as to ensure the political, institutional and financial feasibility (hence, the effective implementation) of the planned reforms in these sectors.

In this overarching framework, the project supports the deployment and work of the EU High Level Advisers (HLAs) designated by the EU Delegation in Moldova.
Currently, the EU High-Level Advisers’ Mission consists of 14 Advisers in the following sectors:

Anticorruption; Anti-Money Laundering and Asset Recovery; Confidence Building Measures; Customs and Tax Policy (Domestic Revenue Mobilisation); Diplomatic and European Affairs; Education and Research; Energy; Financial Services; Green Transition; Internal Security Affairs; Justice and Prosecution; Local Public Administration Reform, including Descentralisation and Voluntary Amalgamation; Reforms Coordination; Strategic Coordination and European Affairs.

The EU High-Level Advisers are senior, qualified professionals with significant experience in leading sectoral public policies and/or in managing public bodies at the highest level in Member States countries, and can also share international experiences from countries at various stages of EU integration.

The beneficiary institutions include: Prime Minister’s Office, State Chancellery, Bureau for Reintegration; Ministry of Justice; Customs Service; Ministry of Infrastructure and Regional Development; Ministry of Environment; Customs Service; National Bank of Moldova; National Commission for Financial Markets; Ministry of Education and Research; Office for Prevention and Fight against Money Laundering; Criminal Asset Recovery Agency under the National Anticorruption Centre; Presidency.