Project Description

The project is funded by the European Union with a three-year implementation period, from January 2016 until December 2018. Its overall objective is to support the Government of the Republic of Moldova to implement its reform Agenda; in particular, to assist in developing the capacities required for the implementation of the Association Agreement (AA), including the Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area (DCFTA), as well as to ensure the necessary follow-up for the post - visa liberalisation stage. Specifically, the project aims at

• strengthening policy making at sector level, including both the strategic planning/policy design and the policy management capacities of the line Ministries and State Agencies operating in the sectors that have been selected to be assisted;

• enhancing the stakeholders’ knowledge and awareness of the European Union’s policies, legislation and regulations;

• providing specific advice so as to ensure the political, institutional and financial feasibility (hence, the effective implementation) of the planned reforms in these sectors.

In this overarching framework, the project supports the deployment and work of the EU High Level Advisers (HLAs) designated by the EU Delegation in Moldova. Currently, the EU High-Level Advisers’ Mission consists of 25 Advisers in the following sectors:

Implementation of the EU – RM Association Agreement, Aid Coordination, Communication & Visibility, Environment, Transport, Energy, Regional Development, Rural Development and Agriculture, Food Safety, Employment, Education, Economy and Trade in the context of the DCFTA, Public Administration Reform, Public Finance Management (including Budgeting) and Macrofinance, Financial Governance, Banking, Customs, Justice, Anticorruption, Public Prosecution, Anti-Money Laundering and Combatting Financing of Terrorism, Internal Affairs, Police, Security Sector Reform, Confidence Building Measures.

The EU High-Level Advisers originate from both old and new Member States of the European Union (France, Italy, Sweden, Poland, Czech Republic, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovenia, Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia) as well as Switzerland. All are senior, qualified professionals with significant experience in leading sectoral public policies and/or in managing public bodies at the highest level in these Member States, and can also share international experiences from countries at various stages of EU integration.

The beneficiary institutions include: Prime Minister’s Office, Parliament, State Chancellery, Ministry of Economy and Infrastructure, Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Agriculture, Regional Development and Environment, Ministry of Health, Labour and Social Protection, Ministry of Education, Culture and Research, Ministry of Internal Affairs, Ministry of Justice, Bureau for Reintegration, Customs Service, General Prosecutor's Office, General Police Inspectorate, National Bank of Moldova, National Anticorruption Centre, National Food Safety Agency.